Go to ...

RSS Feed

Smuggling artifacts


Hello, Forge Heralders! It’s time once again for me to take a look at some Magic rules and give you some rules explanations. If you’re a level 1 Magic judge working towards Level 2, this could be right up your alley.

To kick us off, I want to take a look at Protection versus cards that say can’t.

Let’s take a look at Goblin Brawlerg-brawler
Goblin Brawler clearly states it can’t be equipped. To put it simply, you are not allowed to equip it with anything. But it doesn’t say it can’t be targeted by an equipment. This is a pretty important distinction to make.

If I cast a spell that says, Search your library for an Equipment card. Attach it to target creature, would I be able to target my Goblin Brawler? If so, can I actually equip it?

So the correct answer here is yes and no.

There is nothing saying the Goblin Brawler can’t be the target of the spell, only that it can’t be equipped. So while Goblin Brawler would be perfectly legal for a spell like this, when the spell resolves it will not become equipped.

301.5b. An Equipment is cast and enters the battlefield just like any other artifact. An Equipment doesn’t enter the battlefield attached to a creature. The equip keyword ability attaches the Equipment to a creature you control (see rule 702.6, “Equip”). Control of the creature matters only when the equip ability is activated and when it resolves. Spells and other abilities may also attach an Equipment to a creature. If an effect attempts to attach an Equipment to an object that can’t be equipped by it, the Equipment doesn’t move.

What about a creature that has protection from artifacts?

angelic-curatorWell, it’s a very similar concept. The creature with protection from artifacts can be the target of this spell provided the spell isn’t an artifact; however, when we go to equip the creature, nothing will happen because the equipment is an artifact.

It is important to remember that protection means the creature can’t be damaged, enchanted, targeted, blocked, or equipped by whatever it is they have protection from.

 

Let’s talk about resolving State-based actions
If you have a creature with a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter what happens? Well, when State-based actions check, both of the counters are removed, as a state-based action.

What if you have a creature with the above counters, lethal damage marked on it, and regeneration shield?

When state-based actions check, everything is taken care of as a single event. Therefore, the creature is regenerated and the counters are removed. Again, this is done as a single event.

704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event.

It’s important to remember this.

Ok, one more before we go.

Let’s talk about Hidden Card Error from the IPG.
While working as a floor judge at a recent Preliminary Pro Tour Qualifier I received this call, “Judge, my opponent has two Smuggler’s Copter triggers on the stack and drew two cards before resolving the first trigger.”

smugglers-copter

Essentially, the player was trying to shortcut the triggers by drawing two cards and then discarding two cards. Too bad it doesn’t work that way.

In this case, we have a Hidden Card Error. The reason we know this is because both cards drawn entered the players hand, touching his other cards.

According to the IPG, Hidden Card Error reads: A player commits an error in the game that cannot be corrected by only publicly available information and does so without his or her opponent’s permission. This infraction only applies when a card whose identity is known to only one player is in a hidden set of cards both before and after the error.

Hidden Card Error is relatively new to the IPG and, frankly, I haven’t worked too many tournaments where this has come up.

So how did it get resolved? I conferred with the head judge and he gave me the following.

The player who drew the cards must now reveal his hand to his opponent. The opponent will then pick one card from the hand and it will be discarded. After this, the player will resolve the last Smuggler’s Copter trigger. The player will be given a Warning as Hidden Card Error is a Game Play Error.

So there you have it friends, some rules to look over as you make your way to Level 2. Best of luck to all of you and Happy Judging.

 

One last thing before I go. If you use Pucatrade, please take a moment to check out my profile. I just can’t seem to get anyone to send me some cards. Please send me cards. J

 

 

Patrick Steam punkPatrick Cossel is the Publisher of the Forge Herald. He is a writer, gamer, father, husband, and level 1 Magic Jude. Professionally, he is the Operations Manger for a family-owned newspaper company. He can be contacted at pcossel@gmail.com

 

 

© 2016, Patrick Cossel. All rights reserved.

Facebook Comments

Liked it? Take a second to support Patrick Cossel on Patreon!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

About Patrick Cossel,

I am a journalist and gaming enthusiast.

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.