Go to ...

RSS Feed

Chaining a Blood Moon


Hey, Forge Herald fans! It’s time for another instalment of me answering your Magic rules questions. Also, if you have questions that need immediate answering, you should check out the Magic Judge tumblr. L3 Judge Charlotte Sable does an awesome job. Also, make sure you check out Cranial Insertion, too. Those guys are excellent as well.

On to the questions! I decided to open this up to any format this time instead of just focusing on standard. Let’s see what we got.

Living End vs. Grafdigger’s Cage
Schuyler wants to know how these two cards interact with each other. It would seem, the hope here is that one or the other gets past the other one. Well, they do. Hopefully, you’re wanting Living End to win this fight.

Grafdigger’s Cage says cards “Creature cards can’t enter the battlefield from graveyards or libraries. Players can’t cast cards in graveyards or libraries.”

Living End tells us that we exile all creatures in all graveyards then each player puts those cards exiled onto the battlefield.

graf

living-eBecause the cards are not actually entering the battlefield from the graveyard, Living End wins this battle.

 

 

 

 

What happens if there are two copies of Chains of Mephistopheles in play?
Nole wants to know what happens if there are two copies of Chains of Mephistopheles in play. Much like Humility, Chains of Mephistopheles is the card that everyone seems to want to ask a judge about. Well, at least the older players do. So what happens.

Chains says, “If a player would draw a card except the first one he or she draws in his or her draw step each turn, that player discards a card instead. If the player discards a card this way, he or she draws a card. If the player doesn’t discard a card this way, he or she puts the top card of his or her library into his or her graveyard.”chains

Sheesh! I thought I was going to dodge this question because I was convinced Chains was a World Enchantment. I was wrong. So, we actually need to answer this one.

Ok, first, the effect of the two chains is cumulative. This means each Chains is going to modify each draw, provided of course we are passed the first card drawn for the turn. So this means this will cause a player to discard or mill a card from their library for each card drawn. As the effects resolve in order, the player must discard then draw if possible. Once a player is unable to discard a card and mills instead, the effects are over. Full disclosure here, I went to Gatherer and got the answer for this one. My first response was, “You broke my tournament!”

Blood Moon vs. Nonbasic lands
Nick asks that we explain how Blood Moon works with nonbasic lands.

blood-moon

Blood Moon says, “All nonbasic lands are mountains.”

If you have a Stomping Ground in play and I play Blood Moon what happens to your Stomping Grounds? Well, the end result is you have a Stomping Ground that is now a Land-Mountain that taps for (r).

What happens if you have a Blood Moon in play and I play an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth?

In this case, in simple terms, Urborg is a mountain. It will now be a Legendary Land – Mountain. If Urborg was in play before Blood Moon, it’s the same effect.

That’s it for this week friends. Hope this answered some questions you may have. Do you have a question you would like to see featured in a future article? Tell us in the comments below.

Patrick Steam punkPatrick Cossel is the publisher of The Forge Herald. He is a father, husband, gamer, and Level 1 Magic Judge. Professionally he is the Operations Manager for a family-owned newspaper company. He can be contacted at pcossel@gmail.com or on twitter @pcossel.

 

© 2016, Patrick Cossel. All rights reserved.

Facebook Comments

Liked it? Take a second to support Patrick Cossel on Patreon!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

About Patrick Cossel,

I am a journalist and gaming enthusiast.

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.