Go to ...

RSS Feed

Judge Tips: Not so Hallowed Meld-light


Hey, folks, Patrick here. For this week’s judge article, I decided to step away from the hardcore focus on L2 study stuff and look at some rules interactions in Standard. These are all questions that I have sourced from my local Magic community.

 Q: If you use Goblin Dark-Dwellers ability on Lightning Axe can you still discard a card as a cost, do you get to avoid the 5 mana penalty?GDD

A: Goblin Dark-Dwellers has a triggered ability that allows us to cast an instant or sorcery from our graveyard without paying its mana cost. Notice it doesn’t say anything about not paying its additional cost. So, if you want to avoid paying that extra five mana, you better discard a card.

Q: When discarding a card with Madness, if you don’t cast it for its madness cost, does the card go into exile or the graveyard?

A: To answer this question let’s take a closer look at Madness. When we discard a card with Madness that card goes from our hand to the exile zone instead of going to our graveyard. Then, depending on what we decide to do with the madness trigger, the card will either be moved to the stack (if we cast it) or the graveyard (if we decide not to cast it.)

So, to answer your question, the card is going to the graveyard.

Q: What exactly can Spell Queller target?
A: This came up during one of my matches this past week and I ended up calling the judge on staff to explain this to my opponent.Spell Queller

Spell Queller is an interesting card. It states, When Spell Queller enters the battlefield, exile target spell with converted man cost 4 or less. When Spell Queller leaves the battlefield, the exiled card’s owner may cast that card without paying its mana cost.

Like I said, this caused some confusion. So, Spell Queller specifically says it exiles a spell. A spell is something that is in the process of being cast. It is not, however, a permanent that is already on the board. Sure, the permanent was a spell at one time, but not once it has resolved.

So, if you’re trying to Spell Queller something, make sure it is a spell on the stack, with CMC of 4 or less.

Q: How does Hallowed Moonlight interact with meld or cards that transform?

A: Hallowed Moonlight says, Until the end of turn, if a creature would enter the battlefield and it wasn’t cast, exile it instead.

While that works great to shut down Collected Company, it doesn’t do anything to cards that transform. Let’s look at Westvale Abbey. First, if you use Westvale Abbey’s first ability to create a token, Hallowed Moonlight will cause the token to be exiled. As for the second ability, the card never leaves the battlefield. As is the case for all transform cards. Therefore, Hallowed Moonlight will have no effect on it whatsoever.

Now, when it comes to Meld, it’s a different story. Meld specifically says to exile the creature and then return it to the battlefield Melded with another creature. This means the creature is entering the battlefield and therefore meets the requirements for Hallowed Moonlight to stop it. Sorry Brisela!

Q: I play Collective Brutality discarding two cards for two additional modes. Both the cards I discarded are madness cards that I pay the madness costs to play (maybe Alms of the Vein and Fiery Temper for example) How does the stack work/how is this all going to resolve when all is said and done?

Collective Brutality

A: When dealing with multiple triggers (in this case lots of Madness) you get to decide how you want to stack the triggers. Your choice will depend on how these spells are going to resolve. If you want Fiery Temper to resolve first, make sure to put it on the stack last.

Q: I plus 1 my Tamiyo, Field Researcher, targeting my 3/3 creature with trample. I then declare it as an attacker. You block it with a 2/2 creature. How many cards do I get to draw since I dealt damage to both you and the creature?

Tamiyo

A: Since damage is done as a single instance, you will only get to draw one card. Now, if your creature had double strike, that would be a different story. Then you would indeed have two instances of damage and you would be drawing more cards.

 

That’s it for this time. I hope you guys enjoyed this break from my usual Judge Tips. Do you have a rules question you would like answered? Let me know in the comments below.

 

Patrick Steam punkPatrick Cossel is the Publisher of the Forge Herald. He is a gamer, father, husband, and level 1 Magic Judge. Professionally he is the Operations Manager for a family-owned newspaper company. He can be reached at pcossel@gmail.com

 

 

© 2016, Patrick Cossel. All rights reserved.

Facebook Comments

Liked it? Take a second to support Patrick Cossel on Patreon!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

About Patrick Cossel,

I am a journalist and gaming enthusiast.

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.